Share my world – week 32

Great questions this week..

1. Which would you prefer:  a wild, turbulent life filled with joy, sorrow, passion, and adventure–intoxicating successes and stunning setbacks; or a contented bordering on happy, secure, predictable life surrounded by friends and family without such wide swings of fortune and mood?

I am split by this question. My mind would like the wild time but my body wants friends and family. I love to dream and my dreams are full of adventure. In reality I like a quiet life with great movies and books full of adventure. I prefer adventures in the mind or on the page. When I was a kid it was comic books – tintin, lucky Luke, asterix, Anders And (Donald Duck)

Recently I have been running a citizen science project and it has taken my mind many different places – thinking about mathematical patterns in nature – looking for them, counting them – it stretches the limits of my understanding and triggers a desire to know more.

2. Would you like to be famous?  In what way?

No. I prefer to be out of the spotlight – unless of course its for a really good cause. I would like something I do or think or invent to touch people though, change livesfor the better. I would just like to know myself that I tried to make a difference – that would be enough. I wrote a film script, Wrapped, it made my mother cry, resonated with a feeling that she knew. The film was never made but it reached its audience.

3. If you could cure one disease, what would that be?

AIDS or any wasting disease. When I was a kid I used to collect images of viruses – it amazed me that these simple things could unhinge us as a species. Thinking about the HIV virus and how it hijacks the cell’s machinery to replicate itself was the beginning of my interest in science. I got put in detention in an English lesson for not paying attention but I was thinking about immunity.

4. If you were invisible, where would you go

My dream is to spend a week in the sorting office. I would love it – non stop sorting and collecting letters – pure joy! I recently moved house to a street with a sorting office at the end of it… I am a step closer…

Everyone else’ answers to this week’s questions can be found here

One thought on “Share my world – week 32

Leave a Reply

