Possibilities

Seems like a lot on the writing front is coming together. I have lots of exciting assignments to keep me buzzing over Christmas and New year and I had some great meetings this week with amongst others BBC and Film4 courtesy of BECTU’s Move On Up event in London earlier this week. One thing that was great to hear was that in TV, the script is king. The BBC commissioners and execs weren’t so bothered with reading treatments but wanted to read scripts. I found that encouraging especially when I’ve laboured over Interloper for nearly a year now (gosh is it that long!?). I set out this year to have written a script and ended up writing one and starting two more, with a short film and short script that eked out somewhere in between. Maybe next year I’ll have three of those big cats in the bag ready for release into the wilderness… I’ve also pretty much decided that I want new writing challenges – so am about to embark on writing recording everyday life as part of the Mass Observation Project and maybe next year I might write a play. I think the trick is to keep writing, whatever the weather…

Leave a Reply

